You are viewing araki_kirei

Previous 10

Feb. 16th, 2015


Nai is searching for a guy named Karoku but his only clue to the latter's whereabouts is a bracelet. He meets a thief named Gareki whom he was forced to pair up with to escape a setup in a mansion. Later in the story, Nai and Gareki meet the members of Circus, a defense organization. This meeting introduces them to potential allies as well as place them in danger for coming under the watchful eyes of another organization. This seems to be a clue to Nai's past and the identity of the man he has been searching for.
Read more...Collapse )

Blood Lad

This 10-episode series has an interesting mix of humor, action, fantasy, horror, and romance. The biggest setback perhaps is that it is about a vampire. Unfortunately for those who are predisposed to hate the overrated supernatural creatures, Staz is not interested in acting like your typical vampire. He is one of the bosses in the demon world and likes Japanese culture more than human blood. When a Japanese girl finds her way into the demon world, Staz was excited. But while he was dealing with an intruder in his territory, Yanagi Fuyumi was killed by a monster. Now Staz has to find a way to bring her back to life.

Read more...Collapse )

Sukitte Ii na yo.

Tachibana Mei vowed long ago not to make friends again so she would never get hurt, and yet a handsome and popular guy, Kurosawa Yamato, seems to have noticed something in her. All that was needed was for a nearly unfortunate incident to happen to allow fate to make her open herself up for a change she was slow to welcome.

Like most romance stories, one of them falls in love with the other eventually. The situation just got worse for Mei when Yamato finally kissed her. Everything then changed for Mei.

Read more...Collapse )

Oct. 7th, 2014

Kengo: Master of Bushido

Released in 2000 and 2001, the game is playable in PlayStation 2. It has three modes, the single player mode, tournament mode and VS mode. Characters are unlocked in the tournament mode when you play the single player mode.
Read more...Collapse )

Oct. 6th, 2014

Hesiod's Theogony, translated by Norman O. Brown

This short book provides an introduction and English translation of one of Hesiod's work. The first part is an excellent outline of the history, background, and contents of Theogony. I recommend reading the part first because it is an important guide of the themes, inconsistencies and the studies done by scholars over the years of the work.

However, I warn readers who are not into mythology. The introduction is lengthy and the tone is academic. Anyone without even the slightest background of Classical Mythology will be buried in all the information. For those who have read some of the Greek myths, Theogony is much easier to read because you'll know what to look for.

I've read Theogony a while back and I find this book helpful because of the introduction. Some of the passages make more sense now.

Rating: 10 out of 10

The Cold Commands by Richard Morgan

As presaged in the latter part of the first book of the series The Steel Remains, Ringil Eskiath is estranged again from his family; this time officially by his father. Some time after his encounter with Seethlaw and the other dwenda, Gil found a new mission and has vowed to disrupt the slave trade which he has discovered previously. Meanwhile, a messenger warns Archeth Indamaninarmal of a coming disaster, a disaster which might have something to do, or not, with Egar Dragonbane's discovery in the Afa'marag temple.
Read more...Collapse )

Oct. 2nd, 2014

The Steel Remains by Richard K. Morgan

Ringil Eskiath is a bored hero of Gallows Gap. Although full of regrets of the past and is shunned by his family because of his sexual preferences, no one really notices it beneath his cocky and arrogant attitude.
Read more...Collapse )

Sep. 28th, 2014

Orcs by Stan Nicholls

The volume is a compendium of three books of the Orcs: First Blood series. It includes Bodyguard of Lightning, Legion of Thunder, and Warriors of the Tempest. The story is set in Maras-Dantia, populated by various races who do not get along well with each other. There is an ongoing struggle between two religious factions, the Unis and Manis, and involves various races. Apparently, according to the elder races, Maras-Dantia is losing its magic and killing the land because of the invasion and abuse of the humans. The Manis, who have humans among its followers, believe this as well and are seeking to restore some of the power lost because of the human settlements.
Read more...Collapse )

Sep. 27th, 2014

Grania: She-king of the Irish Seas by Morgan Llywelyn

History tells of a woman who defied tradition to follow her heart's desire and succeeded. Grania was the daughter of the Black Oak Dubhdara and Mairgret of clan O Malley. When most women were expected to fulfill their roles and housewives, Grania instead wanted to sail the seas. At a very young age she was known for her willfulness and insight. A natural leader known for her charisma and unconventional means to get what she wanted, she was a constant object of admiration and sometimes resentment of men and women alike.
Read more...Collapse )

Lightning by Dean Koontz

Laura Shane was born on a night of a freakish lightning storm. Her life since then has been filled with both despair and mystery. Despite losing her mother and later her father at an early age, Laura grew up to be a strong and positive woman. Through most of the trying times of her life, from her birth then an incident with a store robber and more, Laura feels like she's being watched over by someone. This guardian appears during some of her life-threatening encounters and what's more puzzling is that he does not seem to age even as years pass. Ever since his last appearance however, Laura begins to doubt the existence of this blond, blue-eyed, gun-toting guardian.
Read more...Collapse )

Previous 10